Abide in Me

 

a pot of plants at the back door

Most days, I read 1-3 chapters of the Bible. (In January, I started reading through The Message edition.) But some days, I don’t get beyond a few words.

 Today I read, “Abide in me.” (John 15:4)

 These three little power-packed words stopped me in my tracks. I’ve been busy with many projects – a house to pack up for a big move, articles to write, goodbyes, visits, new phones and address changes. I’m also planning messages for an upcoming retreat. All good activities, all necessary but they draw me into a whirlwind. My thoughts scan a never-ending to-do list, desperate to scribble checkmarks.

Abide in me. Those words drew me away from necessities and back to the essential – my relationship with God.

Abide means to live. I can make myself at home in God. In all my present activities, I can find rest, perhaps not for my body but for my inner self, the part of me that generates the most unrest.

Rest comes best to me when I pause to consider the marvels of creation. The structure of a simple leaf, the grooves in the rocks I collected for my garden, flowers that bloom in ditches – beauty everywhere, beauty that calls out – abide in me.

The Creator of all this invites you and me to breathe deeply in Him.

The secret to enjoying God is living life in Him. Today, let these 3 words,  “Abide in Me,” draw you into joy.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Insight, My Imperfect Life, Natural wonders, personal experience, Quietness, Worry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Abide in Me

  1. Mary Lucchetti says:

    Thanks for that, Rose. It’s unbelievable how some days I can just read right by those three little words. Thanks for making me pause and think.

  2. Darlene Wilson says:

    Amen sister, thanks for reminnding me

Comments are closed.