Colour Matters

the book wall

 After our 3 kids left home, I took over the smallest room of our home and made it mine. I devoted one wall to books, another to my desk and files, hung black and white toile curtains, filled the closet with my things and added a futon for overnight guests. That’s where I wrote, read, prayed and passed inspection at the mirrored closet doors before heading off to work.

Two weeks ago, I moved. I planned to place all my things in the third bedroom and make it a den. The previous owner had painted the room brown. Not fawn, taupe, stone or one of the many other appealing browns but a dead brown. My empty bookcases sat in the dead brown room for days waiting for me to unpack my books.

I looked in the room several times each day. Our kids had already stripped the entire living room, hallway and family room of wallpaper and painted all the walls white (cloud white), exactly what the house needed. This third room had had a recent paint job. My husband and kids said, “Well, it’s not a bad color.” But I thought it was just that – a bad color. I longed for the fresh hue of my previous room.

Last week my daughter said, “Mom, if you babysit the kids, we’ll spend the day painting your room.” I ran to the local paint store and bought Rain Forest Dew, the same light limey green I had at the last place.

Now, the books are unpacked. My den looks alive. Today the toile curtains go up. 

Someone may ask – how can you care about something as meaningless as a room color when millions are dying?

God yearns for the souls of dying millions. Yet, He takes specific note when a single, common bird dies. He notices flowers that bloom for less than a day. These dime-a-dozen creations matter to Him. (Matthew 6)

God infused creation with color. And Rain Forest Dew is my favorite right now.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Insight, Natural wonders, personal experience, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Colour Matters

  1. Diane Bird-Thompson says:

    I’m so glad you feel that way Rose, ’cause I do too! I miss you already.
    Luv Diane

  2. Mary Lucchetti says:

    I love this! I was just thinking today about how much I’m looking forward to choosing colours for my new home and about how much time I’m spending going through colour swatches. This was just for me today, Rose. I was starting to feel like maybe I shouldn’t be so enthralled with colours. Thanks!

    • I’m so glad you identified with this Mary. Sometimes we feel guilty for enjoying the lives God’s given us. I’m leafing through my decorator magazines, grateful for the opportunity to create a home for us in this new location. Enjoy your place by the water – you can praise God for the beauty that surrounds you and bring God’s outside colours into your new home.

  3. Brenda, so the word “colour” made you think of hair. That reminds me that I should be thinking of my hair too – with all this moving I’ve neglected my hair (and my toenails).

  4. Rose,
    Colour does matter, but when I first saw the column title, I thought you meant your hair colour! Isn’t if funny how we mistranslate each other? That’s what we do to God too!
    We want Him to say one thing and He is determined to have us really hear what He is really saying!
    I love your office. It is very like mine but I share mine with my sewing stuff..
    The walls are brown but since so little of the walls show that it doesn’t matter much!
    Brenda Wood
    http://www.heartfeltdevotionals.wordpress.com

Comments are closed.