Monarchs Welcome Here

This morning, the sun shone through the front windows of the cottage. Woodpeckers and sand hill cranes screeched nearby. As I stepped out on the back deck of the cottage a cool breeze blew up from the lake, a welcome visitor after weeks of stifling humidity. I opened the front and back doors and let the cabin take a cleansing breath.

Sunlight filtered through the maples at the back of the property. I grabbed my camera. As I entered the path that leads into the woods, a flock of Monarch butterflies (perhaps a crowd of butterflies are called something else besides a flock), scattered in front of me. They floated from branch to branch eluding my camera lens but I did get a few shots of singles.

I clicked away hoping for one good shot of several butterflies. They seemed to be putting on a show for me. One that demanded I watch with my eyes and not the camera.

Not many years ago, the world worried it had seen the last of the lovely Monarch. But, the following year, as if to quote Mark Twain – “the news of my death has been exaggerated” – along came a bumper crop of Monarchs. Someone said they’d been hiding out in South America.

All I can say is, I’m glad they’ve shown up in my little woods. It was a special treat to see them today.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Cottage Life, Natural wonders, personal experience and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monarchs Welcome Here

  1. Diane Bird-Thompson says:

    Oh Rose………what a lovely thought! This has made my day as you’ve touched the part of me that brings me great joy!!! I love the Beauty The Lord has blessed us with so abundantly, and I revel in His Lovingkindness each and every day!
    Glad to see you settling in but, we miss you and Doug so VERY MUCH!!!
    Love and Happiness but most of all God’s richest Blessings are wished for you both!
    Love your writings!!
    Luv Diane

Comments are closed.