In a Crisis, Fast and Pray

I don’t have any figures to back this up but I’m guessing that fasting is the least popular form of prayer.

Recently, we visited friends who confided about a difficult circumstance. No matter how much they prayed and talked to the people involved, nothing changed. They’d reached a dead-end. After a discussion, we suggested that fasting and prayer might make the difference. Within a couple of days they called to say that one day after they fasted, their situation turned around. Minds had changed, people became agreeable.

Like most people I only fast when all other forms of prayer have failed. Such was the case with my father. My sisters and I longed for him to accept Christ. He resisted. We prayed. We talked to him. Nothing happened. We set aside one day a week to fast and pray for Dad. We did this for months, perhaps years. He was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. It looked like our prayers would never be answered.

It didn’t occur to us that God was working out a plan far above anything we could conceive. One day, a year before Dad passed away, he and I went for a long walk. I talked about Jesus as much as possible. He stopped on the road, looked up and with a new light in his eyes, said, “I believe Jesus.”

When we returned to the house, I said to my mother and sister, “Ask Dad what happened today.” He again said, “I believe Jesus.” The smile on his face told us that something had happened. His experience was genuine.

Then we knew, our fasting wasn’t in vain. God had given Dad the mind of a child, a mind that isn’t hindered by unanswerable questions like, “why is the church full of hypocrites?” He believed as a little child does, with total abandon.

Fasting is appropriate for stubborn problems. When His disciples asked Jesus why they couldn’t drive demons out of an afflicted man, Jesus said, “This kind cannot be driven out by anything but prayer and fasting.” (Mark 9:29)

Do you have a problem that just won’t budge no matter how much you pray? Devote a day, or portion of a day, to fasting and prayer.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in devos, Holy Spirit, personal experience, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In a Crisis, Fast and Pray

  1. Mary Lucchetti says:

    Thanks for reminding me of this, Rose. It hardly ever occurs to me to fast and pray. I’ve never been very good at it…my flesh is too weak. Maybe I’ll pray about fasting and prayer.

Comments are closed.