How to Overcome Worry

I’m often troubled by worry. Sometimes it wakes me in the night and agitates my mind. I laid out this little plan for overcoming worry for myself. It’s a simple plan, too simple some might say, but it helps me to focus on the Lord rather than on my needs.

  • Feel and face whatever is troubling you and don’t try to avoid it (denial is harmful).
  • Remind yourself that whatever circumstances you find yourself in, God is there with you. Believe that He can work in everything, whether good or evil.

      Romans 8:28 We are assured and know that [God being a    partner in their labor] all things work together and are [fitting     into a plan] for good to and for those who love God and are           called according to [His] design and purpose.

  • Pray about everything that concerns you. Take all your worries to God.   

Philippians 4:6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer   and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God

  • Only address today’s problems not those you imagine will come in the future.

      Matthew 6:34 “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

  • Remind yourself that God is with you.  

      Hebrews 13:5 Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you

  • Be diligent in your efforts to overcome worry. Worry damages a Christian’s testimony and causes harm to the worrier.

 

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in A Friend, devos, Worry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How to Overcome Worry

  1. Diana Holvik says:

    Hi Rose. I’m commenting a little late, but I’ve been back-tracking through TWG’s listserv and came here by way of your “What’s happening?” post. I really like the first stpe you have for dealing with worry. In my mind I know it’s true, but my knee-jerk reaction is to try to squish worries down and pretend I’m not anxious or worried. I think we Christians often think admitting to worry or anxiety is wrong, but it’s not. Jesus may not have worried in the sense that I do, but he did have times of feeling very troubled in spirit.
    Whoops, I have to rush off. i just got a call. My daughter, home alone with her little kids, including the new baby is feeling quite sick. I’m going over there.

    Diana

    • Diana – I can really identify with your feelings about confronting our worries, admitting them. I haven’t always done this. I learned (and I’m still learning) that honesty is good for the soul – being honest about my feelings, even the negative ones is the first step to letting God into the situation.
      Hope your daughter and babies are well. Sending prayer your way, In Christ, Rose

      • Diana Holvik says:

        Thanks for your prayers. Yesterday I guessed my daughter had pneumonia from my experience as a nurse. She went to doctor today (I drove her) and yes, it is pneumonia, quite bad. She is now on oral antibiotics and puffers. I have been here with her over the past two days. She has four kids, 7 yrs to 2 months. She can barely get off the couch. I have to work the weekend and I’m pretty tired (I have Fibromyalgia), so I could use your prayers too. Your words about worry couldn’t have been more timely. 🙂

  2. Anne Laidlaw says:

    Wise words, Rose. It’s comforting to be reminded that we don’t need to carry our burdens.
    Thank you
    blessings
    Anne

Comments are closed.