What are you Reading?

What are you reading? A friend loves to ask me that question. I like to answer it and pose the question back to him. This is today’s answer.

I always have a mystery on the go. Today, it’s Agatha Christie’s, The Body in the Library. There’s a shelf in my little library dedicated to Christie, the best mystery writer of all-time.

There’s always a non-fiction book on my reading pile too. Right now, it’s Packer’s, Knowing God. I love Packer’s style. Often the learned present theology in a dry manner but Packer’s joy in God gives life to His words. His take on spiritual matters causes me to ask myself hard questions like, “Have I become just another religious fuddy-duddy?”

Also on my pile is Creative Writing by Katherine Lyndskoog. Her chapter on Writer-Types helped me understand myself but it’s full of tips and information for writers. I’ve read this book so often it’s falling apart.

 Last, but not least on my reading list, is the book of Kings in the Old Testament.  I’m reading it from the Conversations edition of The Message. I’ve read through the Bible many times but this time I’m realizing David’s life was filled with more tragedy than joy, his flaws more evident. (I’ll write more about this.) For now, let’s stick to the reading pile.

As I finish this, it dawns on me that that nothing on my reading pile is new. Each book is a re-read. Maybe that says somthing about me.

What are you reading? I’d like to know.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Books/Writers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What are you Reading?

  1. Unsuspecting windmills? Where do you find those? Glad to hear you’re liking Agatha Christie – I don’t remember that book – I’ll have to look through my books to see if I have it. I don’t have all of her books but close to it.

  2. vanyieck says:

    I’m currently reading Don Quixote by Miguel De Cervantes Saavedra. I love books about guys who attack unsuspecting windmills. Prior to that I read Agatha Christie’s The Secret Adversary. It was my first Agatha Christie, and I was duly impressed. My wife loves her work. I’m starting to become a fan.

Comments are closed.