Jesus, Gentle with Sinners

 All things about Jesus impress me. But, one thing stands out – the way He interacts with sinners.

 He stops to rest by a well in Samaria. (John 4) A woman comes to draw water. Jesus asks if she would give him a drink. She thinks, “Huh, a Jew asking me for a drink.” On the importance ladder, Jews lived several rungs above the Samaritans.

 Jesus engaged her in conversation. “If you knew who I was you’d ask me for a drink.” That made her curious. What drink could this man offer her? Jesus tells her of living water, the water that feeds the spirit and soul, the drink of eternal life. Now she’s excited. “So, give me this water,” she says.

 “Go and get your husband and then come back,” Jesus tells her.

 She balks. Then Jesus reveals He knows all about her five husbands and the man she presently lives with. “You must be a prophet,” she says. That statement allowed Jesus to introduce Himself as not another prophet but the Son of God.

 She left her pots and headed back to the village to tell her friends about Jesus, her need of drinking water forgotten.

Jesus could’ve chided the woman for her mixed up theology and her morals but He didn’t. The point wasn’t her religion or her morals; the point was the Savior of the world wanted a personal encounter with her.

Jesus handles sinners with care. He handled me with care when I lost my way. He didn’t deal with the petty stuff, the stuff that made me most ashamed. He dealt with my need of a Savior who loved me unconditionally.  

Jesus isn’t in the condemning business. He’s in the restoration business. I add my voice to the Samaritan woman’s invitation to “Come, see a man who knew all about the things I did, who knows me inside and out.”

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in A Friend, devos, Insight, Quietness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jesus, Gentle with Sinners

  1. Thank you for your comments. So glad to have you.

  2. Anne Laidlaw says:

    Now THAT is Good News! That’s why I love Jesus, because He first loved me. I used to think I needed to clean myself up before coming to Him. How wrong I was. Often well-meaning Christians bring shame instead of mercy to lost souls. His mercy brought change in my heart. I had enough condemnation already.
    Thank you for reminding us of our gracious Redeemer and Friend.
    Anne

    • You’re right Anne. So many of us think we need to clean up for God. The Good News is that He cleans us up. I wish everyone knew how loving God is! From personal experience, I know that “the goodness of God leads to repentance.” When we experience His love, He becomes irresistible.

  3. how are you!This was a really exceptional theme!
    I come from roma, I was luck to look for your website in digg
    Also I learn much in your theme really thank your very much i will come daily

  4. thesauros says:

    I love that interaction. “If you knew who you were talking to,”
    The Creator of the universe “If you only knew who you were talking to,”

    • Yes, this interaction is wonderful isn’t it? When we really consider that the woman at the well, an ordinary human, was having a conversation with the Son of God, Creator of all, it’s just too wonderful to describe.

Comments are closed.