Weak in Christ

I spoke at a retreat on the weekend.  It’s been a while since I spoke 3 times in a row. When I arrived home on Sunday evening, tiredness pressed into my bones. I felt the weight of household duties rise to meet me as I trudged through the front door.

When my body’s fatigued, my mind doesn’t function as well as it should. Even reading a book takes more concentration than I can muster. At times like this when physical weakness overtakes me, I’m keenly aware that I’m a fragile human being.

Jesus-followers often use the phrase “strong in the Lord.”  We are encouraged to depend on the Lord for our strength. I was conscious of the Holy Spirit ministering through me to the women at the retreat. I didn’t feel tired at all, though I had little sleep. I guess you could say I was strong in the Lord.

Today I’d describe myself as “weak in the Lord;” and I’m finding it a pleasant place to be. This weak phase reminds me how fragile my body and mind are and how dependant on Him I really am. I’m not self-sufficient, far from it. Feeling my humanity is good for me.

 Today I crawl up under God’s wing. He lowers it over me. I snuggle into Him, rest my head on His strong breast. Tomorrow I might wake up ready to take on the world again but for today, I need to handle myself with care and gain my strength from Him because I am, after all, only human.

“Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me under the shadow of your wing.” Psalm 17:8

“. . . we are weak in Him yet by God’s power we shall live. . . ” 2 Corinthians 13:4

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in devos, My Imperfect Life, personal experience and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weak in Christ

  1. Anne Laidlaw says:

    I can relate, especially as I get older.
    I used to feel guilty for feeling tired and needing to ‘hide’ from the world, now I allow myself to absorb the fatigue. Allowing myself to experience the total intensity of weariness gives me an accurate guage of how much rest I need. I don’t force it or shorten it, but listen to it. I’m also honest about it. I tell people the truth about my need for rest and isolation and how little I’m interested in any new activity or task.
    As I age, my tolerance for emotional tasks diminishes. I don’t mean to come across as cold or callous, but I don’t have the stamina I used to. Whatever resources I have seem to be well invested in the events of those I love who are near and dear to me. Loss of general health as I age soaks up my reserve of vitality. Events that used to bring an impulsive and joyful response, now brings a sigh and long internal calculation if I can cope with the event. Rose, speaking at conferences takes immense emotional, physical and spiritual strength, not to mention the weeks of preparation beforehand.
    It’s encouraging for the rest of us to hear we are not alone in needing to declare the days we are ‘weak in Christ’.
    God bless you, and may God bless the ladies you ministered to at the conference.

    • Anne – your honesty about your need for a restful life is refreshing. As Christians we tend to feel guilty if we can’t keep up a steady stream of religious activity. It’s good to recognize our physical, mental, emotional limits. It reminds me of John who rested his head on Jesus’ shoulder. The poor guy was tired. Before the night ended, he was the only one who stood by Jesus. Other readers will benefit from your comments. Thank you.

Comments are closed.