Sleep Like a Baby, God is at Work

sweet baby sleep

I visited two friends, one suffering sickness, the other the recent loss of her husband. My instincts are always to make life better for people; find out what’s wrong then find the answer. I love these two friends but I don’t have answers for their suffering. I can’t fix their problems. In the past, I shared many happy and productive times with these friends. Vibrant moments filled with God-activity.

Later in the day, I turned on the television to catch the news. Terrorists struck an airport. A child abducted. Global rumors of unrest. Grim unemployment figures. The news broke for a commercial – a hungry, crying child, almost naked. My soul sighed under the weight of a planet filled with needy people. I hit the off button and turned to my daily reading.

I found these words in Psalm 5:1-3 – “Listen God! Please, pay attention! Can you make sense of these ramblings, my groans and cries?” David must’ve felt the weight I feel today. My heart longed for God’s cover. I prayed the rawest prayer, one word – Help! No lines for God to read between but He gets it anyway. In minutes, a quiet shroud muffled my sadness. Peace returned.

“At day’s end I’m ready for sound sleep, for you, God, have put my life back together.” Psalm 4:7,8 I can sleep tight tonight – God is at work.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in devos, Healing, Insight, My Imperfect Life, personal experience, Prayer, Quietness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sleep Like a Baby, God is at Work

  1. Beautiful thoughts Rose – I too have felt the helpless while watching incomprehensiblee suffering. Mostly on a pediatric cancer floor – wondering if God could hear my groans and my cries. I have learned that He always hears but we are the ones who don’t always feel His presence. Stuff gets in the way – our pain, our doubt, our fears – yet if we will truly seek Him, we will hear that still small voice saying, “Because he loves me”, says the Lord, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him. With long life will I satisfy him and show him my salvation.” Psalm 91:14-16

  2. Carley says:

    Beautiful blog. Thank you so very much.

Comments are closed.