Everyday Miracles

When it comes to miracles, we usually look for the spectacular – the lame leaping, a volcano interrupted mid-blast, a deathbed case revived. These super miracles still happen. God still heals incurable diseases. He still performs feats that take our breath away . . . but not every day.

That’s why it’s important to open our eyes to the small miracles that surround us every hour of every day. This week the moon shone brighter than it has in 18 years. I called my grandson, already up past his bedtime, to come outside and look at the ball of fire in the night sky. Though the moon hangs miraculously in its place every night we seldom take time to admire it.

Last week, I bought a bundle of tulips at the grocery store. Their pinky lilac blooms make my heart sing each time I pass by the table at our front entrance. Many varieties of tulips bless the earth with a burst of colour each spring. Come to think of it, isn’t Spring itself one of the biggest miracles? Seeds, after a winter’s sleep, respond to the warmth of God’s glorious sun.

Earlier this week we awoke for the first time since fall to a mourning dove’s hoots. Several noisy robins and busy chickadees have moved into our back yard. Old friends return . . . a miracle.

On Saturday, Matilda celebrated her second birthday by singing happy birthday to herself. Later, she stood on one foot, placed the other in her shoe and crunched the velcro shut. A toddler’s dexterity is nothing short of a miracle. The same day, rescuers found two people buried in rubble 9 days after the earthquake in Japan. That might qualify as a super miracle.

Today, my husband and I spent several hours with my sister-in-law . . . the visit reminded me of my growing-up years when Sunday afternoons were reserved for relatives. Connections to people, the gift of family – an every day miracle.

My life wasn’t perfect this week but I was surrounded by miracles that warmed my heart, filled me with hope and gave me a glimpse of God at work in my ordinary every day life.

May God give you eyes to observe the miracles in your life this week.

“Lord, help me not to pine over prayers unanswered and miracles not yet experienced. Open my mind to the miracle of every day life. Make my heart sing joyful praises for present joys and at the same time, fill me with hope for future blessings. Each breath I take is nothing short of a miracle. Help me to see the miraculous in the ordinary.”

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.