I’m More Normal Than I Seem

Woody Allen is quoted as saying, “I’m not as normal as I seem.” If I make that thought apply to me I have to say, “I’m more normal than I seem.” People often attribute virtues to me that I don’t possess. For example, I’m not nearly as peaceful as I seem. Only people who haven’t been on the receiving end of one of my icy stares would say I’m kind. I can be kind. I can be peaceful. I can be thoughtful. But not all the time.

Every day I say and do things I shouldn’t. Every day I don’t do and say things I should. I would throw my hands up in despair and think ‘what’s the use of trying?’ except that I want to keep trying.

I read a Christian testimony by a man who said that many people considered him a hypocrite. He didn’t blame them. He admitted being unlovable. He made this point – if only they’d known me before I became a Christian, they’d know what a saint I am now.

James writes a little tidbit about Elijah that gives normal folks hope.

Elijah, for instance, human just like us, prayed hard that it wouldn’t rain, and it didn’t—not a drop for three and a half years. Then he prayed that it would rain, and it did. The showers came and everything started growing again. (5:16 The Message)

Elijah, the great miracle-working prophet, normal like us? Nomal isn’t an excuse to live carelessly but encouragement to keep pursuing goodness.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Insight, My Imperfect Life, personal experience, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m More Normal Than I Seem

  1. Anne Laidlaw says:

    Thanks for the chuckle.
    It’s good to know I’m more normal than I seem too.

Comments are closed.