A Song for the Discouraged

For months, I’ve been praying earnestly for a breakthrough in a certain matter. Several times it’s looked like the answer had arrived then the bottom fell out again. Yesterday, discouragement took hold of me – what’s the use in praying? – How long will this situation go on? – Why aren’t you listening Lord? – these thoughts swirled in my mind.

I told the Lord I was worn-out from praying, sick of waiting for answers. This morning my regular reading took me to Psalm 126.

And now, God, do it again –

Bring rains to our drought-stricken lives

So those who planted their crops in despair

Will shout hurrahs at the harvest,

So those who went off with heavy hearts

Will come home laughing, with armloads of blessing.

Eugene Peterson comments – “It’s clear that the one who wrote this psalm and those who sang it were no strangers to the dark side of things.”  These folks knew about tears and suffering.

Everyone suffers. But God knows how to turn our tears into joy. These people left with heavy hearts like mine but came home laughing, blessed. Today, this scripture nourished my soul, that part of me that nothing can reach but God’s Spirit.

Jesus expressed this nourishing of the soul when he told his worried disciples that he had food to eat that they hadn’t yet experienced. This scripture made my heart joyful again and caused me to look beyond my discouragement, to experience joy in the midst of suffering. It also gave me perspective – what a small suffering mine is compared to that of the psalm’s writer.

My faith renewed, I’m praying – Yes God, do it again, rain down on my prayer crops, fill my arms with harvest blessings.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in devos, Insight, My Imperfect Life, personal experience, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Song for the Discouraged

  1. Mary Lucchetti says:

    Rose, this was a very good article. I so appreciated your honesty and transparency.

  2. vanyieck says:

    Once again it comes down to perseverance. I wonder why I’ve been seeing that lesson everywhere I turn? (By the way, perseverance sucks.)

    • isn’t it true that when God is really speaking to us about an issue, we see the message everywhere . . . and you’re right, it does suck, in the short term . . . but in the long term, persevering through discouragement helps us become stronger, better people

  3. Amen Rose! I stand in agreement with you asking Him to rain down on your crops. The seeds that you have planted can’t help but grow and deliver to you a bountiful harvest – in His time! May we walk with a bold step in the power of His blessing.

    His grace abounds!
    Marta

    • Marta, I like your statement – we walk with a bold step in the power of His blessing . . . yes, not in our own feeble strength but in his eternal strength . . . always a treat to hear from you

  4. Hi Rose,
    Yes we need to remain in Him with joy, through all situations but it is tough and calls for much prayer. So I will pray that you can rest in Him and find strength that only He can give you.
    Blessings,
    Jan

  5. A great article. The Bible is full of examples that life is not about our happiness or pleasure. Life isn’t even about us. The rain falls on the just and unjust equally. As Christians, the best attitude is that of Paul – learn to be content in every situation knowing that God has a purpose for everything and everyone.

    Have an amazing day,

    Tom 2 tall Cunningham
    http://www.tom2tall.com/Why-You-Are-Amazing.html

Comments are closed.