No Fishing

After the lost sheep phase of my life, and still in the infant prodigal-returned-to-the-Father phase, two things happened. God blessed us with a baby girl, a joyful experience . . .  and I fell into deep distress over past prodigal behavior. Every day dark thoughts intruded on my joy. Ignoring them didn’t help.

One afternoon I read in one of Corrie ten Boom’s books that God casts our sins into a great sea called His forgetfulness and posts a NO FISHING sign. I realized then that suffering for sins now forgiven, wasn’t God’s plan for me. That day I accepted Christ’s complete sacrifice for my sin which includes erasing my guilt.

 The prodigal son in Matthew 21 felt like I did. He didn’t want the father to clothe him with silk robes. “I’m not worthy to be called your son,” he said. But the Father wouldn’t have it. Full redemption includes release from the unworthy syndrome and total accepted into God’s family.

Our inability to accept complete forgiveness from God provides Satan an opportunity to torment. Dragging up the past is one of his specialties. 

As far as the east is from the west, so far has He removed our transgressions from us.

Psalm 103:12

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Corrie ten Boom, forgiveness, Inspiring People, My Imperfect Life, personal experience, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Fishing

  1. Anne Laidlaw says:

    Good word, Rose.

Comments are closed.