Prayer Changes Things . . . but not everything

            In my second pregnancy, I prayed that I wouldn’t be overdue. During the ten overdue days before my first child was born, I’d become cranky, cumbersome and frustrated.

            So sure God agreed with my request and bursting with faith, I told my friends that definitely, absolutely this baby would be born on or before his due date. The due date neared, Mum came to stay with Melody while I was in hospital. (In those days mothers stayed in hospital for 6 days and it was better for both Mum and baby, in my opinion.)

            The due date passed. Mum had to leave. I became cranky, cumbersome and frustrated. One afternoon while Melody napped, I threw myself on the bed (as much as a nine and a half month pregnant woman can throw herself on a bed) and cried a prayer that went something like this, “Lord, I can’t believe you haven’t answered my prayer.”

            An unmistakable inside-my-heart voice answered, “. . . a time to be born.”

            These few words let me know that no matter how much I prayed, cried and stomped my feet in a tantrum, God had a plan bigger than mine and it included a specific date for my child’s birth.

            Prayer is a powerful instrument. It does change things . . . but not everything.

            The little phrase, a time to be born, comes from a poetic passage in Solomon’s book of Ecclesiastes. He lists other realities of life that can’t be changed. For example, a farmer could dig up snow and push seeds into the frozen ground but no matter how much faith he has he won’t reap potatoes. There’s a time to plant and a time to reap.

            Eugene Peterson comments on this passage – “there are realities of life that God puts together in His time, not ours.” He gives us grace to accept the situations He refuses to change.

            I got up from my bed of weeping with a new spring in my step. Ten days past his due date my son Carson entered the world. The lesson I learned while waiting for him has stayed with me – it’s right to pray about everything but wrong to insist that God work on our schedules.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Prayer Changes Things . . . but not everything

  1. vanyieck says:

    Those are the right words at the right moment.

    • Often I’ve read just the right quote, the right scripture or devotion for the exact right time. . . it warms my heart when this happens . . . glad this one warmed yours.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Love this.

Comments are closed.