One Today is Worth Two Tomorrows

I woke this morning with a list on my brain, things I need to do to get ready to leave for the cottage tomorrow. On top of the list, lay some worries – a suffering friend, bills to pay – and responsibilities – a chapter to write, devotionals due. I pondered these over cereal and coffee . . .  then my husband said, “I’m calling Terrence to ask if he wants to come for a morning swim with his papa.” Wet towels . . . ugh, as if there isn’t enough laundry? Who wants to swim? I’m busy wondering how I’m going to get eveything done today.

Mmm, maybe a swim is what I need. In minutes, our daughter, her husband and two grandchildren were in the pool with us. Two year-old Matilda jumped in without her water wings and kept her mouth shut . . . lookit me Daddy, I swimming. We raced from side to side, splashed and talked about the amazing lightning storm last night. Wow! That’s the best light show I’ve seen in years.

We trooped through the kitchen wrapped in wet towels, flipped a few pancakes, cut up cantelope and nectarines. Yum. Out came the markers and coloring books. Tension in my shoulders eased.

Our swim party didn’t last long but for me it was another decision to live today and let tomorrow worry about itself. Not that I plan to foolishly ignore my responsibilities but I’m trying to approach them from a different direction. A mindset that rolls my worries onto God ‘s big shoulders. . . that’s my aim. Choosing to swim with my grandchildren rather than hustle around with worry lines creasing my forehead, was good for me.

My goal is to live the simple life Jesus advocated – Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes. (Matt. 6:34)

Choose today and leave tomorrow in God’s care because one today is worth two tomorrows.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in devos, Insight, My Imperfect Life, personal experience, Worry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One Today is Worth Two Tomorrows

  1. Anne Laidlaw says:

    A great reminder to take a deep breath of relaxation and keep our trust in the Lord. Yes, we do need to make lists but we also need to allow God to be in control.
    Those verses bring liberty.

  2. Very inspirational words, Mom and I will pass this on to a friend who needs to hear it.

    P.S. I can’t believe you have posted this picture of me!

  3. Darlene says:

    thanks Rose, I needed to hear that!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Love this Rose…precious time with the people we love is far more important (and fun) than worring about things that always seem to somehow get done in due time!! Those “things” we really need to “leave” till tomorrow .

  5. Margaret says:

    Nothing like a two year old splashing around in water wings to remind us the simple moments are the richest…

  6. Mary Lucchetti says:

    Rose, I love this article. I need to hear those wise words often.

Comments are closed.