Guiding Lights

 Near the end of a sizzling summer day, my husband I launched our boat into a nearby bay. We anchored in a narrow strip between two rocky islands where we could count on a cool breeze and a pickerel or two. I lounged, book in hand, while Doug let down a wormed line and kept one eye on the fish finder.

            “They’re starting to bite!” he yelled while hauling a good one to the surface. Then another. And another. In our excitement we barely noticed the clouds turning pink, the red sun setting. Being the net person, I’d set my book down to help bring in the catch.

            The fish action ceased but we lingered just a little while longer thinking it might start again. Next thing we knew darkness surrounded us. “It’s later than I realized. We’d better head for shore,” Doug said. Thankful for a stringer of our favorite fish, we pulled anchor and set out for the marina several miles away. I worried out loud from my co-pilot’s seat about finding our way back.

            “See that light?” Doug pointed to the only green light in a cluster almost too far away to be seen. “Now look behind us.” Two lighthouses, one high on a distant rock, the other closer and near water level, rotated their red beams.

            “The green light is the marina. It and the lighthouses form a straight line. If I align the boat with the lights, we’ll cruise right into shore.”

            It didn’t matter that we couldn’t see the bridge or rock jutting from the surface. Our boat followed a course set by experts and we sped through the night and into the marina with ease.

            When troubles come they blur our perception like darkness falling on the water. In trying to make sense of circumstances that only make sense to God we become confused and discouraged. Our tendency then is to stop moving, look down and plot our own way.

            God’s word shines like the lighthouse beacon: “Trust in me with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge me and I will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5,6)

            We stayed on course and made it safely to the dock. Just as Doug and I trusted our lives to the stranger who set up the lights in the bay you can trust your best friend, the Lord, to guide you through whatever circumstances you face today.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Cottage Life, My Imperfect Life, Natural wonders, personal experience, Worry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guiding Lights

  1. Peter Black says:

    Hello Rose,
    What a fine w/site!
    I enjoyed your post, and marvelled at the beautiful scenic photos.
    Thank you for including me in your relocation news update.
    I imagine that you and Doug will miss aspects of the northern environment and activities.
    Ah, but there’s a time for everything, isn’t there? And it’s nice that you’re closer to others of your friends, including a thicker concentration, perhaps, of our TWG writing community.
    I thank you for your encouragement to me, and also the example of fine inspirational writing that you’ve provided.
    Lord bless you both,
    In Jesus,
    Peter.

Comments are closed.