God Cares about Little Things

Friday night, bone-aching tired from a busy week, I stood with a throng of travelers at the Greyhound Bus depot. Mom awaited at the other end of my 3-hour journey. She needed help with Dad, in the semi-worst stages of Alzheimer’s.

“Lord,” I prayed, “please give me a seat by myself on the bus.” Not likely, I thought, too many travelers. Often on buses and planes, strangers sit beside me and before my trip is over, they’ve unloaded their sad or chaotic lives. When I’m strong, I listen attentively, give advice and prayer. But, that Friday I wasn’t strong. I wanted to lay my head against the window and sleep, daydream or simply think.

A bus pulled into the depot. “Anybody heading to Toronto can board,” called the attendant. That bus full, another one pulled in. “Every one going to Sudbury or North Bay.”

When the third bus rolled in, there was only me and one other person left. I boarded and sat in the middle of the bus, too far from the driver to hold a conversation. The other passenger must have been tired too. He headed for the back.

I arrived at my destination refreshed. I’d prayed for what seemed impossible, a seat to myself and received almost an entire bus.

God cares about details, the little needs we sometimes think too small to take to Him. We envision God on the fly, busy juggling the needs of an entire universe. Or filling the needs of people more desperate than us.

We’re not capable of understanding how deeply God cares about us, or why He cares. We just need to accept that He does.

Do you have a “small” need, something important to you, but globally inconsequential? The One who has labeled each hair on your head with a number wants to hear about it.

But [even] the very hairs of your head are all numbered.

Do not be struck with fear or seized with alarm;

you are of greater worth than many [flocks] of sparrows.

Luke 12:7

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in devos, Insight, Miracles, My Imperfect Life, personal experience, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.