Compassion Without Compromise

This morning, I finished reading the book of Jeremiah. It took me a while. Several times, I got bogged down in the heaviness of it and turned instead to Psalms or the New Testament for relief. No wonder Jeremiah is known as the weeping prophet. There’s much to weep about in his prophecies. The last chapter broke my heart. Destructive Babylonians pilfered the temple, demolished the bronze pillars and the great sea. I remembered the painstaking details that went into building the temple, the devotion of the craftsmen, the people’s joy when the temple was dedicated and most of all, the glory of God, like a cloud, descending upon the finished work. At the end of Jeremiah, the temple is in ruins.

I picture Jeremiah as a sad man, but one whose life teaches a valuable lesson. Courage. Maligned, imprisoned and abused, he continued to proclaim God’s message. People hated him for his message of doom, not strangers, his own people hated him. Their hatred broke his heart but he kept on. God came first.

Jeremiah tells how God commissioned him when he was still a boy. Jeremiah objected at first. Then God said:

“Don’t say, ‘I’m only a boy.’ I’ll tell you where to go and you’ll go there, I’ll tell you what to say and you’ll say it. Don’t be afraid of a soul. I’ll be right there, looking after you.” (Jeremiah 1:7-8)

 Jeremiah took God at His word and plunged into the career of the truthful prophet, a rare breed in his day.

Does God come first for me? Do I compromise His truth to make others feel better? Jeremiah makes me ask myself these questions. Compromise – an ugly word, a word without back bone, a word brimming with mediocrity.

There was no compromise in Jeremiah. None. Yet God’s love filled his soul. Compassion for his people flowed onto the pages of his book.

 Compassion without compromise. That’s the lesson I learned from Jeremiah’s life.

Lord, help me to let your love and compassion flow through me. But at the same time, let me not put compassion before You and your message of truth.  

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in devos, Inspiring People and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Compassion Without Compromise

  1. Panama says:

    What is amazing is the context in which the same name Jehovah Tsidkenu appears a second time in the Old Testament. Further into the same book in Jeremiah 33:15 &16, the weeping prophet proclaimed that Jerusalem will be called by the same name as her righteous Messiah. She shall be declared “righteous”.

  2. Sugel says:

    One of the great prophecies of Jeremiah relative to the history of the Jewish nation is found in Jeremiah 25:9-13 where the prophet looks to the end of the Babylonian captivity by predicting its length of 70 years. It is apparently this prophecy which Daniel is reading in Daniel 9:2 when he determines the end of the captivity is near and presents his great prayer to God.

  3. Anonymous says:

    loved this! Dawn

Comments are closed.