The Kingdom of God is Like a Mansion with Many Windows

What is God like? Everyone wants to know.

He is like a many storied mansion with thousands of windows. I see through only one window, you see through another. I rub my window clean for a better view, tilt my head this way and that, strain my neck till it pains. I shout to you and other window-viewers, describing what I see. I grasp for right words but they prove inadquate.

You shout back at me from your window a few stories higher or lower. There, the sun shines from a different angle, giving your eyes access to darkened corners. Descriptions come to us from other redeemed ones. Each window watcher shares the part of God that’s most clear to them.

As God-viewers we share our sightings. We put our descriptions together. Our conclusion, improved, still lacks much information. But we keep squinting, calling out for stronger lenses.

My life experience hums with an ordinary beat but it’s a beat I found in God. And if for no one else but God and myself, I must skip to the beat of my redeemed heart.

Perhaps you need to believe in the validity of your mission. You need confirmation that no one else but you can get down and dirty in the stalls of humanity that beckon to you. No one but insignificant you has the mind, the heart, the stamina for the task that calls your name. No one but weird and wonderful you sees God’s love and can express it in just the way you do.

For that reason, because you see what I can’t, and I see in a way that you don’t, we must keep scraping at God’s window for a clearer view of Him. It’s not that He’s trying to hide from us. It’s that He’s so awesomely large and multi-faceted, that it takes all of us together to create one solid image of Him, and even then, that image is blurred.

For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known. I Corinthians 13:12 KJV)

Take comfort in this: We may not fully know Him but He fully knows us.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Kingdom of God is Like a Mansion with Many Windows

  1. I really like this. “I must skip to the beat of my redeemed heart.” Thanks for your encouraging words.
    http://www.writemomentswithgod.blogspot.com

  2. vanyieck says:

    I appreciate the thought of God’s vastness. I’d lose respect for a God I fully understood, because any God I can fully grasp is far too limited to be truly God.

  3. Mary says:

    Rose, this article is profound and has just an incredible slant to it. I loved it….especially the very last line. You have an amazing way with words, my friend!

Comments are closed.