Risky Business

                There’s a basic need for significance ingrained in our natures. We need to sense that our contribution to the big picture matters. Significance doesn’t mean becoming famous. It doesn’t mean we’re the best at what we do; it simply means we feel better about ourselves when we step forward and offer our unique contribution. Doing that is risky. Perhaps people won’t like our offering. They might not get us. And, worst of all, they might reject us.

The first time I submitted an article to a magazine, I tortured myself with visions of the editor exclaiming, “I’ve never read such rubbish in my life!” The reason I wrote the article and submitted it was that I really believed God had given me something to say. But, after I slipped the envelope into the mailbox, (that tells you how long ago I submitted this article), I was so terrified of rejection, I could hardly breathe.

In a month or two (that’s a long time to hold one’s breath), the editor wrote back. He said he’d be happy to publish my piece and if I had anything else to write, to please send it to him. My writer’s heart leaped for joy.

Taking risks for worthy reasons adds exhilaration to life and increases our sense of significance.

Choose Significance, not Security. Many God-called people let God-given ideas lie dormant because they fear failure or rejection.  God is writing a story in each person’s life. Our pages hum with joy, grief, pain and pleasure but no novel is complete without adventure. The adventure chapters in our stories chronicle the times we’ve chosen significance over security, the times we’ve knocked on strangers’ doors, uncertain whether we’d even arrived at the right address. 

Is God pressing you to move in a certain direction? To step forward and offer your services? To do something that is out of your comfort zone? Are you nervous about taking a risk?

If we don’t risk following wherever He leads, we’ll never know the joy of crawling out on a limb and finding ourselves exactly where He wants us to be.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in Insight, personal experience, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Risky Business

  1. Darlene says:

    Just what I needed for this dreary Monday morning.

Comments are closed.