Knocking on Heaven’s Door

Something I’d been praying for for a long time had looked like it was coming to pass and then, it fell apart again. I went to bed discouraged and woke up with a headache.

In the morning, I laid on the couch and allowed discouragement to seep into my bones. I cried. After that, I made coffee and sat on the deck and stared straight ahead. No wind rustled in the upper branches of my maples to remind me that God was still on His throne. Silence.

After a while, a woodpecker began to collect bugs from a rotting birch tree. His knocking echoed in my still morning. Assorted bugs, awakened by the knocking, began to hum in the background. I loosely interpreted their message: “It’s alright to wallow in self-pity, you’re human, after all.”

I breath deeply the fresh air. I start counting the many shades of green visible from my seat on the deck. More than I would’ve guessed. A cicada buzzes. God knows I like that sound. He’s here in the stillness of discouragement.

Woodpecker keeps knocking, immersed in his project. It’s he who brings heaven’s message to me today –

“Keep on knocking and the door will open for you.” Matthew 7:7

If what you pray for is good, wholesome and beneficial, keep on praying. Setbacks come. They seem inevitable. Yet, God’s ear is pressed against the door, listening, waiting, yearning for the continual knock of our prayers.

“And to him who keeps on knocking the door will be opened.” Matthew 7:8

When discouragement comes, God often speaks through the setting we happen to be in at that moment. Are you discouraged? Watch and listen.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in devos, Healing, Insight, My Imperfect Life, Natural wonders, personal experience, Quietness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Knocking on Heaven’s Door

  1. Joan says:

    Wow.
    Rose, you were literally sent to me today. That scenario at the beginning is one I know well. But I LOVE what you say, “When discouragement comes, God often speaks through the setting we happen to be in at that moment. Are you discouraged? Watch and listen.” Right now I’m feeling as grey as today’s sky, but it sounds like I should have a closer look around. God is probably waiting to show me something. What a priceless tip!

  2. Diane Bird-Thompson says:

    Hi Rose…thank you for encouraging words..I needed that right now! God has His way of talking to us, sometimes it is through a Woodpecker..as long as we are opened to hearing what He has to say! Hope you are all well..still missing you and Doug….Sending tons of Blessings and our Love…………Bob and Diane

    • Diane – I chuckled when I read “sometimes it is through a woodpecker.” It sounds funnier coming back at me than it did when I wrote it. Still miss you too Diane. Trust you and Bob are well. Sending blessings back at you – Hugs, Rose

Comments are closed.