God, I Don’t Want To . . .

100_0737When we know what we should do but don’t want to do  . . . God can cause us to want to.

I don’t mean that He will force us. But that He can put the “want to” in us, if we want Him to.

We may find someone unlovable but God says “love them.” Impossible. Unless . . . we open our hearts and let Him cause us to want to love.

God may ask us to speak to someone about a particular subject, perhaps their own need of Christ. Yikes! What if they reject what we have to say? God can cause us to want to speak and not to care about the consequences.

What if we wake up one morning and God says, “Give x number of dollars to Joe.” Can’t Lord. Don’t have enough. Don’t want to. Joe doesn’t deserve it.

When we know what we should do but don’t want to . . . we can ask God to put the “want to” in us.

God’s “want to” helps us see things from His perspective, the inside of a person instead of the outside. He closes our ears to their language and behavior and causes us to see how they really feel.

Do you need to have God’s perspective on a person or situation today? God specializes in this. Paul found this out and wrote about in a letter to the Philippians.

For it is God who is at work within you, giving you the will and the power to achieve his purpose. (2:13 – J. B. Philips translation)

Let’s ask Him to do this for us : Lord, give me your “want to” today. Re-align my perspective so that it lines up with yours.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in Insight, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to God, I Don’t Want To . . .

  1. Rose, thank you for sharing this with us. I’m going to pray as you suggest-“Lord, give me your want to today and help me see as you do.” I love this awesome verse from Philippians. Thanks again. Blessings to you…
    http://www.writemomentswithgod.blogspot.com

  2. Hi Joan – I’m sure the reason I found this verse and it became so important to me is because I need it more than you do. 🙂

  3. Joan says:

    Oh wow, Rose, how did I never notice this before? “For it is God who is at work within you, giving you the WILL and the power to achieve his purpose.” Thanks!!

Comments are closed.