The Way Back to God

Bev Friesen's David Austin Rose

Bev Friesen’s David Austin Rose

It takes courage to pray this prayer of David’s:

“Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life. (Psalm 139:24) ”

He asks me to lay my sins out before Him. Not that He doesn’t know them already but because He doesn’t want me hiding behind a self-righteous shield. Coming clean with God means confessing anger, envy, jealousy, the whole rotting mess.

Confession of sin has been a distinguishing feature of every spiritual revival so it shouldn’t surprise us that a personal revival would also begin with repentance.

Selwyn Hughes in his devotional Unchanging Truths writes, “A lost spiritual blessing can not be recovered without repentance. If we have moved away from the Lord and ceased to be dependent on Him, the only way back is through the door of repentance.”

Revival is like Spring when the water flows freely (Bridal Veil Falls)

Revival is like Spring when the water flows freely (Bridal Veil Falls)

When we confess our sins and our need of God, we’ve taken the first step toward a personal revival. It can also be helpful to talk with a trusted believing friend. Churches are not usually places where we can express our deep needs but some prayer and small Bible study groups are safe places.

It’s always important to tell God what we want from Him. When feeling void of His Spirit we can  pray something like this:

“Father, I need a refilling of your Holy Spirit. I am so empty and I feel lost. I admit that my condition is my own fault. I’ve neglected the Holy Spirit. Father, forgive me and begin your holy work of renewal in me.”

If we confess our sin He is faithful and just to forgive us. John 1:9

One Good Word Cover(My book, One Good Word Makes all the Difference is available here.)

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in devos, forgiveness, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.