A Forever Point of View

I’m reading Revelation. The words of  this book fill me with a sense of majestic power that grips my soul and fills my mind with moving pictures of events that will take place in heaven and on the earth. The content of the book does something else for me – it puts all my concerns in a tiny box and lets me see them for what they are – momentary troubles that won’t affect my eternity.

Eternity – how easy it is to get lost in the here and now and forget about eternity, the forever and ever, that makes up the future of every human. Or, to get lost in the past, as sometimes happens to me when I’m writing the stories of the children who came to Canada under the British/Canada Child Immigration Plan, people who have already gone into their forever and ever.

At times, I need to put aside history, put aside the present political and social turmoil, and even the immense human suffering that troubles me, and think deeply about forever. What’s most important for Jesus followers is that we remain faithful to Him and never lose touch with the eternity He’s prepared for us.

Our troubles are momentary. Earthly powers are momentary. Wicked voices in the world will be silenced. Hunger and suffering will end (but this is no reason for us not to do something about it in the present).

“And He, Jesus Christ, shall reign forever and forever – for the eternities of the eternities.” Revelation 11:15 (This is the passage that inspired Handel to write his “Messiah.”)

Having a grip on eternity helps us to handle the present.

Make it Personal with Prayer: Lord, the wickedness of this world and the chaos of it, depresses me. Help me to lift my thoughts and intertwine them with your thoughts. Then, I’ll glimpse a slice of eternity and that glimpse will empower me to live every day with a forever point of view.

*****

One Good Word CoverPurchase my book, One Good Word Makes all the Difference here.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in devos, Future events, Insight, Worry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Forever Point of View

  1. Rose, I really appreciate this post. The special prayer…a forever point of view. Faithful to Him and focused. God’s grace be with you. Continued good success with your writing.

Comments are closed.