Somewhere Over the Atlantic

planeMy friend and long-time prayer partner, Enis, arrived at the airport early for her flight from Toronto to London. She piled her bags on a cart and headed to a coffee shop for lunch. A woman came up behind her and asked for directions. A kind person, she tried to help. During the exchange her handbag was snatched from the cart. Her passport, credit cards, cash, everything she needed for her vacation was gone.

Authorities explained that she’d been played. As she turned to look at the woman asking for help, another woman had stolen her purse. She felt devastated. Several phone calls later, helpful airline staff had her on the plane. “Don’t let this ruin your plans. Go and enjoy yourself,” her husband said. But as Enis settled into her seat on the plane, a knot of despair lodged in her chest. How could I be so stupid? Why didn’t I have my purse looped over my shoulder? I must look naive, that’s why these thieves picked on me. This is the story of my life, always getting picked on. Ugly, self-accusing thoughts rolled through her mind.

Enis was overcome with self-hatred. She prayed, God, help me. Somewhere over the Atlantic, this thought, quiet but firm, came into her mind – you need to forgive yourself. She prayed again, “I do Lord, I do forgive myself. I recognize that anyone can be taken advantage of.” Immediately, the self-accusing thoughts stopped, her shame disintegrated..

Is something in your life causing you anguish? Do you feel taken advantage of by others but blame yourself for it?

Perhaps God is telling you what he told my friend – Forgive yourself. Say the same kind things to yourself that you would say to others in a similar situation.

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness

Ecclesiastes 3:22,23

We are loved by Someone who understands us, Someone who forgives us. Therefore, we can love and forgive ourselves.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in A Friend, forgiveness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Somewhere Over the Atlantic

  1. I hope all things worked out for Enis. I can’t imagine her disappointment. I can relate to her self-accusatory remarks. Rose, you have shared something that isn’t talked/written about so often. I appreciate it so much that you wrote this. Thank you.

    • Yes, everything worked out for Enis. This subject comes to me now and then and I think it’s important to share about it because we all suffer from this and it’s good to talk openly about it.

Comments are closed.