Can a Doggie Chase be a God Moment?

Daisy

Daisy

It happened on a winter Monday, my day off.  Carson was eating breakfast before getting dressed and running off to school. Everyone else had left the house. I poured a cup of tea and joined him at the table. The tea was still warm when we heard a knock at the door. A neighbour wanted to borrow a snow shovel. Daisy, our English Bull Terrier, bounded up from the family room to greet him. As he bent to ruffle her ears, she shoved her bulky body between his legs and out the door.

I yelled “Come” but she  hoisted her nose and started down the street.

Carson and I climbed into the van to search the snow-piled streets for Daisy. We circled the neighbourhood several times without a dog sighting. After forty-five minutes, we spotted her in a driveway, her snout protruding from between two five-foot snow banks. Carson scooped her onto the back seat where she shivered all the way home.

The doggie pursuit changed our plans. Carson was late for school and my100_0052 (2) morning wasn’t the quiet one I’d planned.

A hundred and fifty years before Daisy interrupted my plans, Annie Keary wrote, “One can feel that perhaps one’s true work – one’s work for God, consists in doing some trifling haphazard thing that has been thrown into one’s day. It is not a waste of time, as one is tempted to think, it is the most important work of the day – the part one can best offer to God.”

The doggy-chase frustrated me. I wanted to scream, “That’s it. That dog has to go.” I didn’t because those words would’ve upset my son.

Later, I pondered whether there had been more to our Monday morning doggie chase than a mere interruption. Could it have been the most important part of my day?

It was an opportunity for me to exercise patience – something I struggle with.

 The true meaning of the word “interruption” – a personally designed encounter from God to make His ways known.

There’s a God-lesson in every experience, even frustrating interruptions.

God reveals Himself in the disagreeable events of our ordinary days. Flat tires, balking cars, snowstorms, late planes, overloaded buses, crammed waiting rooms, crashing computers, unwelcome phone calls – even mutinous mutts. Can it be that our true work for God is revealed in all of these?

Making it Personal: Lord, I’m beginning this day remembering that any events that may frustrate me today are opportunities for me to see You at work in my life.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in My Imperfect Life, personal experience and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can a Doggie Chase be a God Moment?

  1. Diana says:

    Hi Rose, Thanks for sharing your story and the lesson about interruptions. Life is full of interruptions, things that we find in our path, or that are hurled into our laps or onto our heads. He’s here. In all of it.

    i have been on a similar doggie chase, only it was a really hot day in July and our daughter’s dog shoved under our fence and took off. Our own dog followed her under the fence and came to our front door, thereby letting us know that Gracie was on the lam. Gracie is a long-legged labradoodle and she was disappearing at a gallop up our extremely busy city street. I [overweight and not well] took off after her. I barely manged to keep her in sight. She was crossing and recrossing the busy street, disappearing into people’s front yards and reappearing a block over. I was praying. Please Lord, keep her safe. Keep me going. help us. My daughter went looking up and down streets all over our neighborhood in her van. A man we didn’t know started helping. He was a faster runner than me. Then, get this, another man whom we didn’t know lent the first man, [and they didn’t know each other] his bike to facilitate his searching because Man #1 had seen Gracie, but Man #2 had not, and didn’t know who/what he was looking for.. Man #1 eventually found her and corralled her. Gracie was several blocks over in a large park that had a lot of bush–if she had gone onto one of the trails we would have lost her. But there were so many awful possibilities that day. I believe God kept Gracie safe. He helped me to run in the heat. He gave us helpers.

    The God-lesson was, he’s not only listening, but helping us even with the things that seem unconnected with “the kingdom of God.”
    There’s another lesson. We were all pushing ourselves to find a crazy dog and bring her home. How much more does God go after us and bring us home.

Comments are closed.