Why Pray?

woman prayingOne day while in prayer, the Lord gave me this message: When you fly to Los Angeles, be mindful of the person sitting beside you. She has been searching for me and she is ready to receive me.

A few weeks later, at the airport with my four travelling companions, I waited prayerfully for my boarding pass. When I received it, I was seated nowhere near them but near the back of the plane.

As I took my seat, I noticed the woman beside me.

planeI took out the book I’d bought to read on the trip. After a while, my seat partner asked what I was reading. I told her it was a book about events that will take place before Jesus returns to earth.

That sparked her interest.

I found out that she’d been on a months-long trip around the world and after Los Angeles, she was travelling home to Australia.

Our conversation flowed naturally. I was on that plane to tell her about Jesus and I knew it.

About forty minutes from the L.A. Airport, my new friend asked how it was possible to know Jesus.

women praying“Would you like me to pray with you?” I asked

She said yes. We joined hands. I led her in a brief prayer; she repeated the words after me:

Lord Jesus, I give my whole life to you from this day forward. Please come into my heart and forgive my sins. Amen.

When we landed, I introduced her to my friends and told them about her decision for Christ. A short time later, we hugged goodbye. I never saw her again. But, I will – on that great day when Jesus returns.

When we pray, God speaks to us. We tell him what’s on our hearts and He shares His heart with us. His heart is always, always longing for people to know Him.

When you pray, remember to listen.

God is speaking.

One night the Lord said to Paul, in a vision, “Have no fear, but speak, and do not be silent.” Acts 18:9

One Good Word Makes all the Difference by Rose McCormick Brandon is available here.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in personal experience, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Pray?

  1. A friend, Dawn Offord, read this story, then share this: your story reminded me that just before going over to South Africa, someone prayed over us and got the words ” More love” which I thought was cool – we can all use that On our first day in Johannesburg, we did a tour of Soweto, and our tour guide’s name was Lovemore, so after a good discussion about the beliefs of the 4 different tribes in a tourist village that we were visiting, to make a long story short, we led him to the Lord! We were going on a tour the next day, so he asked to be our guide again, so we were able to give him a small Bible, that we had brought a few with us.

Comments are closed.