Tell my People to Praise Me

A woman in late years, Sarah Cochrane, lay in a hospital bed thinking she’d come to the end of her days. Her work for God had spanned decades. She’d poured out her soul labouring beside her husband, Dave, at the Harbour Rescue Mission (now called Mission Services) in Hamilton, Ontario.

Sarah met Dave, a former alcoholic who had found Christ at the Mission, later in life than most people find their mates. Together they had ministered in the north end, the poorest section of the city.

God visited Sarah in hospital. In a dream, she saw parts of Heaven. It seemed it was her time to go but at the end of this night vision, the Lord spoke these words to her, “Tell my people to praise me.”

The next day her pastor came to visit. She shared God’s message with him. When Sarah recovered and returned to church, he invited her to the platform to tell everyone what the Lord had said – “Tell my people to praise me.”

When we’re sick and depressed we don’t want to praise Him. Sometimes we even feel it’s impossible to give thanks. Yet we must lift our hearts and our voices and say –

Worthy is the Lamb that was slain to receive power, and riches and wisdom and strength and honour and glory and blessing. (Revelation 5:12)

Is your heart heavy, burdened with unanswered prayers and disappointing results?

I will bless the Lord at all times. His praise shall continually be in my mouth. Psalm 34:1

Why should I praise God? Because it’s the best thing for me to do in all situations. When I’m happy it’s easy to praise. When I’m sad, disturbed and gloomy, the words stick to my tongue and it’s difficult to get them out.

man in praiseTell my people to praise me.

From the rising of the sun to the going down of the same the Lord’s name is to be praised. Psalm 113:3

We can’t fully understand the importance of praise, therefore, we must follow God in humble obedience.

In everything give thanks for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you. I Thessalonians 5:18

Sarah has been with the Lord for many years now but God’s message through her remains.

“Tell my people to praise me.”

It’s a simple message but profound and life-changing.

Rose McCormick Brandon’s book, One Good Word Makes all the Difference is available here.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in devos, Inspiring People and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tell my People to Praise Me

  1. David says:

    Great reminder for all of us ! Thanks Doris

  2. Joan says:

    Yes! This is God’s wisdom. I love it! Praise gives Him access to our hearts in a deeper way. I learned this in a very dark time. When He really begins to get hold of His people’s hearts, He can use us to show the world Jesus, not “religion.” This is huge! Thanks for sharing Sarah’s dream with us.

    Joan

    • Joan, I too find this so exciting. Sarah was a plain, quiet woman who never wanted the spotlight. It’s so interesting to me, and so touching, that God used her to deliver this profound message. I’ve been thinking about this every day for some time. God is using this message – tell my people to praise me – to guide me into a deeper trust relationship with Him.

Comments are closed.