Hope

Hope is a mysterious ingredient. When we have it we barely sense its presence. When we don’t have it, the skies of life blacken and the future turns a dull shade of grey.

red sun4We sometimes feel hope – when circumstances indicate that help is on the way. But, hope is something deeper than a feeling. Hope is more than seeing an encouraging light on the horizon and walking toward it.

Hope needs an anchor to ground it. That anchor is God. David, writer of the Psalms, said:

Hope in God and wait expectantly for Him. For I shall yet praise Him, my Helper and my God. Psalm 42:5

rainbow2When we throw an anchor off the side of the boat, it disappears into deep water. We can’t see it but it holds us in place and keeps us from drifting.

When trouble comes, the anchor of hope digs deeper into the sea.

“A hardworking, hungry man cannot live on whipped cream. He must have something solid to nourish him. In the same way, a person who is being tried by hard times, must have a gospel that is true, and he must believe that it is true.” C. H. Spurgeon

Are you in trouble? Let the hope that God gives fill your mind and soul.

Prayer: Lord, I rely on your promises. I depend on You alone for everything I need. My hope is anchored in You.

Happy is the person who has the God of Jacob as his helper, whose hope is in the Lord his God. Psalm 146:5

 

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hope

  1. Diana says:

    Rose, thank you for this “devotional” It has ministered to me in a way I really needed.
    Blessings, Diana

    • Diana – it is always good news to me to hear that someone has benefited from something I wrote. One thing we all need is encouragement. So often others have written words that encouraged me and I am so pleased to do the same for someone else.

  2. Yes, He is faithful. Always and forever.

  3. Joan says:

    Dear Rose, you can’t imagine how timely this is. You’ve been used of the Lord this morning to send me a reminder that the Anchor we can’t see goes down very deep, and is faithful.

Comments are closed.