Yes, God Really Loves You

At a point in my life when it seemed that my challenges stacked themselves one on top of the other, I struggled to find answers. Had God tired of me? If he had, why? What had I done to offend Him? Hundreds of small and great sins came to mind. I confessed them all. Not a bad thing, but it didn’t make any difference.

A dark and stormy night

During this troubled time, I sought comfort and strength from church. I sat expectantly through worship and preaching but nothing ministered to my soul. One night I returned home from service utterly desperate. I went into our bedroom, left the lights off, sank to my knees by the bed and prayed. I planned to stay until the Lord spoke to me but after an hour I rose with the same old sense of soul desperation.

In that depressing moment, while standing at the bedroom window facing our dark back yard, I made this decision: I’ve already committed my life to Jesus and I won’t turn back, no matter what.

That decision led to a declaration that went something like this:

Lord, if you never answer another prayer for me as long as I live, I’ll still serve you. What you’ve done for me already is far more than I expected when you and I began our journey together and far more than I deserve. If I live the rest of my life in this dark pit, so be it; I’ll keep my pledge to you anyway.

What difference did that decision make? My faith became rooted in Christ, in Him only, and not in circumstances. His love for me is always the same, enormous, in good times and bad.

Troubles come to everyone and I am no exception. Troubles still come but my perception of them has changed.

Are you suffering? Facing challenges on several fronts? Perhaps hardships have caused you to question whether God really loves you. HE DOES. His unconditional love for you will never waver. You can depend on it today, tomorrow and forever.

rainbow2Times of trouble come for a season. They don’t last forever. So, hold on to Jesus.

Let these words from the Apostle Paul sink into your soul today.

“For I am persuaded beyond doubt that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things impending and threatening, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Romans 8:38,39

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in My Imperfect Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yes, God Really Loves You

  1. Mary Haskett says:

    Hi Rosemary,
    How I can relate to your devotional today, and like you I will continue to believe in the promises of my God whatever my circumstance.
    Bless you

  2. Miriam Laari-Alton says:

    How true. It is so good to know He is always with us like He promised. He is the firm Rock. Thanks for the reminder. Miriam

Comments are closed.