The Baby Stage of Wonder

download 016One sunny June morning, I placed my helmeted two year-old son, Peter, on the child’s seat of my bike and we took off from the driveway for an hour joy ride.

As we cycled through the neighbourhood, a warm breeze tickled through my long hair. Peter hummed with contentment in rhythm to the wheels. He pointed a chubby finger one direction, then the other – “Doggie . . . birdie. . . sky.” My heart leapt with gladness at the sound of his happy voice.

On our blessed excursion, I thought how wonderful it would be to let the surprise of the first view of our surroundings fill us with same wonder my baby was experiencing.

Soon, I felt the weight of Peter’s head on my back. He’d fallen asleep. At home, I removed him from the seat and gingerly carried him upstairs to his crib for a nice long nap. As I fluffed him into his baby scented blankets, I felt a nudge from the Lord –

“When you look around at the world I’ve created, always let your heart be filled with the wonder and excitement of a child.”

We grow out of many things in life but we should never grow out of that baby stage of wonder. Open the windows of your home and let the scent of Spring thrill you again.

Let this Spring be as marvellous as your first.

tulipsWhen you see the trees in bud, really look at them and consider the marvel of new growth. When flowers bloom again, snip off one tiny bloom and study its complicated construction.

We bring joy to the heart of the Father when we appreciate the work of His hands.

Today, Father, we say with the angels: “You are worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power, for you created all things and by your will they exist and were created.” (Revelation 4:11)


book coverRose McCormick Brandon is the author of One Good Word Makes all thecover One Good Word 2 Difference and Promises of Home – Stories of Canada’s British Home Children. Visit her website at http://writingfromtheheart.webs.com

 

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in personal experience, renewal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Baby Stage of Wonder

  1. Diana says:

    I love this post, Rose, and the pics that go with it. I have fibromyalgia which has not only slowed my life down [and then some], it has taught me to notice and find and feel the joy in the little [and big, but usual but often i=unnoticed] things in my life. Like right now the rush and rustle of the breeze in the trees and the notes from my wind chimes, and the tender fresh greens all around us, the flowers in gardens, even weeds like dandelions like little suns on the lawn.And I give thanks to our amazing Creator.
    I love the way you describe your little son in this post.

    thanks for sharing and reminding me to keep on noticing and enjoying, feeling the joy, in the creation around us.

Leave a Reply

