God Takes Specific Interest in Nobodies

Israel wanted a king. They chose Saul. He stood head and shoulders above others in stature and bravery. His Hollywood good-looks charmed everyone. So charismatic was he that people couldn’t see the real man.

Time revealed the real Saul – weak, terrified and ungodly. He looked like King material. But, he wasn’t. He was a somebody without substance.

God isn’t charmed by intelligence, appearance or a bank balance. He isn’t charmed at all – by anything. No one needs to tell God anything about themselves or anyone else. He thoroughly knows us, sees deeply into hearts. (John 2:24,25)

But, how can a nobody like me be significant to God?

God takes a specific interest in nobodies like you and me. Paul wrote:

God has chosen the world’s insignificant and despised people and nobodies in order to bring to nothing those who amount to something (in their own eyes) . . . (I Corinthians 1:28)

God chooses nobodies – if ever there was good news for humanity, this is it.

You may consider yourself a nobody, but God considers you unique and especially gifted. No one else on the planet has your exact history. When you were born, God rejoiced because no one exactly like you had ever existed. No footprints matching yours had yet stamped the earth. David expressed this truth –

For you formed my inward parts;
    you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works;
    my soul knows it very well.
My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
    intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
    the days that were formed for me,
    when as yet there was none of them. Psalm 139-13-16

Perhaps you were the last of thirteen children. No one celebrated another mouth to feed. There are no unwelcome births in God’s universe. No accidental births. No insignificant people.

You are heaven’s first and final attempt at you. You are matchless, unprecedented and unequalled. Max Lucado

Are you a nobody? Good. God chooses nobodies. And uniquely gifts us to serve others. (I Corinthians 12:7)

Revel in this: You are loved and chosen by Someone who isn’t moved by appearance, power, money or pedigree, Someone who can make opportunities where there are none. Someone who loves to hang around with nobodies.

man in anguishMaking it Personal: Lord, I lay before You my insignificant life. I dedicate my days on earth to You. I’m thrilled to know that You love me and always have. All my unanswered questions are in Your care. My soul is content in You.


 cover One Good Word 2Rose McCormick Brandon is the author of One Good Word Makes77868-book2bcover all the Difference and Promises of Home – Stories of Canada’s British Home Children. Visit her blogs: Listening to my Hair Grow and Promises of Home. To purchase books, visit Writing From the Heart.

 

 

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in devos, encouragement, Insight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

