A Grudge-free Life

A woman peeked through the doorway into my office. “I’ve been walking past this church for  months. I thought I’d stop in and see what goes on in here.”

That was my introduction to Alice. I took her on a tour of the building, answered some of her questions and invited her to attend a Sunday service. “I don’t think I’m ready for that,” she said. “Do you have any meetings with just a few people?”

I told Alice about our women’s noon hour prayer meetings. “You can come with me,” I said.

The next week Alice showed up. For weeks she didn’t say much. When 1 o’clock came she gathered her things and left. As time passed Alice’s awkwardness with the group diminished. She started keeping a diary of our prayer requests and sharing hers with us. She always wanted to know, “Has anyone had an answer to prayer? If we’re asking God for stuff there should be answers right?”

One day during our conversation before prayer (which always went on longer than we intended), Alice blurted out. “When I was walking across the parking lot today, I was thinking about how much I’ve changed since I started to believe in Jesus. Then it dawned on me, I don’t have anything against anybody, nobody. This is the first time in my life since I was a kid that I can say that.”

Nothing against anybody. What a free way to live. Alice admitted to us that she had held many grudges, some of them valid. “I didn’t realize until today that they’re all gone. I’m thinking about this one and that one and I’m not mad at any of them any more.”

The miracle of a grudge-free life. That’s a life lesson I learned from Alice.


Rose McCormick Brandon is the author of One Good Word Makes all the Difference and Promises of Home – Stories of Canada’s British Home Children. Visit her blogs: Listening to my Hair Grow and Promises of Home. To purchase books, visit Writing From the Heart.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in forgiveness, Inspiring People, Miracles, personal experience, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

