God’s Peace, a Precious Jewel

. . . and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. Isaiah 9:6

 

I stood and the window and prayed for peace to return. A phone call came earlier in the day. A man asking if I would fill a position in a Christian organization. They really wanted me he said. Caught off-guard I felt pressured to accept. What harm could come of it? They were believers and I a willing worker. I should have said I’d pray and think about it, but I didn’t. From the moment I accepted I felt inner turmoil, the absence of peace.
Christ deposits His peace into the heart of every believer. Circumstances may rage. Villains approach. Storms ensue. His peace endures.
We’re unaware of that peace most of the time. Unless it disappears as mine did. Then there’s a void. “Something’s wrong,” my heart shouted. His peace left when I ventured where He did not lead. When I assumed His anointing where there was none. Restlessness filled the place where peace once dwelt.
“Oh Prince of Peace, where have you gone?” I promised Him I’d call the next day and cancel my acceptance. His peace returned. I felt the joyful deposit of it.
His peace helps us discern His will. When it flies away to places unknown we can be sure of its return when we put our feet back onto the path He’s chosen for us.
Humanity will continue to demand peace, but real and lasting peace will never come until the Prince of Peace reigns the world.
“Let the peace of Christ rule in your heart . . . “ (Colossians 3:15) “and the peace of God which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:7).
Peace is such a precious jewel, I would give anything for it, except truth. Matthew Henry


Rose McCormick Brandon is the author of One Good Word Makes all the Difference and Promises of Home – Stories of Canada’s British Home Children. This is an excerpt from her devotional book in progress. Visit her website, Writing from the Heart.

About rosemccormickbrandon

An award winning personal experience writer, Rose McCormick Brandon is a frequent contributor to faith magazines, devotionals and compilations, including Chicken Soup for the Soul. Rose is the author of Promises of Home: Stories of Canada's British Home Children (2014). One Good Word Makes all the Difference (2013), He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me (2012) and Vanished: What Happened to My Son. She's a frequent contributor to The Testimony, Today's Pentecostal Evangel and other faith magazines in Canada, U.S. and Australia. Rose also writes about Canadian history, specifically the era of Child Immigration from Britain. Read her stories of child immigrants at: http://littleimmigrants.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in devos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God’s Peace, a Precious Jewel

  1. Very good point arising from experience! Living in a secular world, it is so easy to slip into running ahead of God’s will! And if not then, shortly after, the dis-ease begins. Glad you made a quick change of mind.

    • It’s so true that it’s easy to slip into the worldly routine of running ahead of God instead of following Him. Oh boy, I can think of many times I’ve done that. Still learning thankfully. Rose

Leave a Reply

